Te Kāhui Pou Whakatau Ture o Aotearoa





In 1924 several JP Associations agreed to set up a federal structure of governance and in 1927 the Federal Council of Honorary Justices' Associations was created. Membership at that time was 1638.

By 1967 the executive was expanded to include three regions, Northern, Central and Southern and letters patent were granted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The name then changed to Royal Federation of New Zealand Justices' Associations Inc.

In 1986 the Auckland association changed its representative status so effectively became another region.

The current structure is four regions, Auckland, Northern, Central and Southern each with one regional representative on the Federation Board. There is also a President, Vice President and Immediate Past President.

Nominations for all positions (excepting Immediate Past President) are called for on the first of August each year, Regional Representatives are elected by postal ballot by the first of December and any election for the position of President and Vice President is carried out at the annual conference, usually around February/March of the following year.

The Board meets every two months in Wellington.

These four regions (Auckland, Northern, Central and Southern) represent the 28 member associations. Each association is autonomous and has its own constitution.

The member association delegates attend the annual conference and determine matters as set out in the Federation Constitution.

Resolutions passed at conference are binding on all member associations. (S37 RF Constitution)

Click here to read a copy of the Royal Federation Constitution.

Link to Contacts page